Flash Fiction Short Story: A Situation

It was so great to read one of Cassie’s stories again. This one had me in its grip – check it out 🙂

My Etch-A-Sketch Life

I’m participating in Mel’s Midweek Writing Menagerie #7 and choose to use the first sentence starter. Enjoy!

# # #

A Situation

The first time I died, I was nineteen years old and resigned to my fate; the second time was a different story. Life with it’s strange plot twists, I think back, and my fate of dying with cancer was more dignified than where I am now. I fought the fight. I freaking kicked its ass! Let’s be clear here, it was no walk in the park. I had many conversations with the Almighty and my doctor’s who thought they were the almighty, about my situation. It was just that, a situation. One last option – surgery.

I died on the operating table…coded, flat lined. Sayonara everyone, that’s all she wrote. Okay, well she put the pen back down but dang if she didn’t wait a good thirty seconds…

View original post 814 more words

Leave a Reply

