The Author’s Nightmare Story by Louise Findlay

This fanfiction story was written by Louise Findlay from Louise Findlay Books. Please visit her site if you would like to know more, and follow the link at the bottom for a continuation of the story.

The Author’s Nightmare Story: Regina’s Curse – Once Upon A Time Fanfic

regina blade

Operation Mongoose 4×21 + 4×22 AU. For Regina the cruellest thing was to have had hope in the past and then have it ripped away from you. Regina’s worst nightmare is her Mother and the Author has enacted her worst possible nightmare. Can Regina protect Henry from the Queen of Hearts? Does Emma have magic in this alternate Enchanted Forest? Who will become the new Dark One?

Regina

“Help me. Help me” A voice cried.

What? Was that Henry? It couldn’t be. We were all cursed to this fiction and Henry… Henry was all alone. God knows where Emma was unless she was that Saviour that my mother imprisoned. There was no Evil Queen in this land only the Queen of Hearts. My mother grew bored as ruler of Wonderland and decided to enslave the Enchanted Forest instead.

I had to save him but it would mean escaping my mother’s grasp. I would pay for it later she would make sure of it.

An ogre. Damn those beasts. It would have been easy to eradicate them but oh the Queen of Hearts wouldn’t deign to make the peasant’s lives easier. Perish the thought. A fireball easily felled the beast.

“Oh Henry. Why are you here? You can’t change things. You’re stuck here like the rest of us. Now you have to go before my mother comes back” I told him.

If Mother saw him then… It couldn’t bear thinking about. He was already doomed in this perverse reality.

“I’m trying to save you. I don’t want to live without my family” he said.

“What is it you don’t want me to find out about, Regina?” Cora asked.

“Mother, I didn’t expect you to be back so soon. Henry, go” I said to Cora before whispering to Henry.

“I’m not leaving you” he whispered.

“You have to” I whispered.

Why was it that his Charming gene emerged at the worst possible times?

the charmings

“A dead ogre. Have you been helping the peasants, Regina? I have told you not to waste your magical talents on them” Mother

“I’m sorry, Mother. I’ll be a good girl I promise” I said.

No. I saw Henry crawling away but Cora heard the scuffling.

“Oh I very much doubt that but what do we have here? A boy that should learn to respect his betters” she said.

“He’s not important, Mother” I said.

God. If I ever deserved anything this was it. She could not harm Henry. Pretend not to be interested, Regina and she’ll dismiss it.

“Oh but he is. I can see it in your eyes. I should’ve ripped out your heart when I had the chance but his will be so much better” said Cora.

My worst nightmare come true. It was Daniel all over again. I protected his heart with blood magic. It was the strongest protection I could give him but it would not protect him against Cora. I couldn’t not let her harm Henry. Whatever the cost of protecting him would be I would gladly pay it. With a flash of my hand I teleported him elsewhere. It was my place to deal with my mother. If it saved Henry I would withstand any punishment she gave me. Even the worst.

“You really shouldn’t have done that, Regina. You’ve been a bad girl and you deserve to be punished” she said.

I had to protect Henry. He couldn’t survive in the Enchanted Forest. There was ogres and bandits that would take advantage of his ignorance. I would have to sacrifice my magic to escape from my mother but I had a real chance of freedom.

It was the burning spell. My worst fear. She knew I hated it the most. The flames that consumed you, eroding away flesh. It was one of the worst punishments.

“Don’t you dare, Regina. I will find you. None of your attempts worked before and they never will. You can’t escape me” said Mother.

Agh. My skin was burning. I can smell my own flesh smouldering. I had to get out of here. I couldn’t leave Henry on his own.

emma dragon

Read on here.

A fanfiction piece I wrote for Mel’s Writing Menagrie #5

“Write a scene with one of your favourite characters from film or television”

Louise Findlay


Thanks for stopping by.

Mel

4 thoughts on “The Author’s Nightmare Story by Louise Findlay

      1. Thanks. I loved making the images. It just seemed that the lines were so great that I had to highlight them some how.

Leave a Reply

